Chairman of the National Archives’ Board of Directors Message


The National Archives (NA) has considerable importance as it preserves the nation’s memory. It constitutes a reference to academic and historical research and a source of documented information for decision makers. During its journey of more than half a century, it has managed to build up an archive that monitors key stages of the UAE foundation and development, to ensure connection between the past and present. The NA provides paper and digital documents for researchers, academics and those who are interested in the UAE history and heritage.
The National Archives has witnessed considerable development and asserted leadership in terms of building a modern national archives that is regulated in accordance with the UAE applicable legislations, represented by Federal Law No. 7 of 2008 and the Executive Regulation thereof, as well as the standards applicable in this field, as the entity concerned with preserving government records and taking all required actions to preserve the archives and documents of government institutions in the UAE.
The National Archives is one of the oldest archival centers in the Arabian Gulf region. Founded in 1968 under guidance of the late Founding Leader, Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan, it enjoyed the support of the wise leadership.  Under directives of H.H. Sheikh Mansour Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Presidential Affairs, the National Archives works continuously to build up its acquisitions of archival materials and historical documents related to the history of the UAE and the Arabian Gulf region. It collects these materials from local, Arab and foreign sources to be available for present and future generations that want to benefit from past experiences. The UAE was founded and developed in record time and that is a fascinating and interesting story documented by the National Archives in more than 150 books, that contain accurate and documented information. The National Archives applies academic standards of documenting oral history interviews, conducted with senior narrators, in addition to historical research.
The National Archives has not only been established as a repository for documents, but it also has significant impact on all segments of society. That is why its activities, events and efforts in the national education of generations have played great role in fostering belonging to the nation and loyalty to the wise leadership, enhancing national identity and instilling the values and virtues of the Founding Leader in all people.


HE Hamad Bin Abdulrahman Al Midfa

Chairman of the National Archives’ Board of Directors Message

كلمة رئيس مجلس إدارة الأرشيف الوطني


يحظى الأرشيف الوطني بأهمية بالغة؛ فهو يحفظ ذاكرة الوطن، وهو مصدر للبحث العلمي والتاريخي، وركيزة من ركائز توفير المعلومة الموثقة لصانع القرار. وقد استطاع عبر رحلته التي زادت على نصف قرن أن يكوّن رصيداً أرشيفياً يرصد مراحل مفصلية في نشأة الدولة وتطورها، ويضمن التواصل بين الماضي والحاضر، وهو يتيحها بشكلها الورقي والرقمي للباحثين والأكاديميين والمهتمين بتاريخ دولة الإمارات وتراثها.
لقد شهد الأرشيف الوطني تطوراً مهماً، وحقق الريادة في تحقيق إنجازاته في إطار بناء أرشيف وطني حديث ومنظم، وفق التشريعات المعتمدة في الدولة والمتمثلة في القانون الاتحادي رقم 7 لعام 2008 ولائحته التنفيذية، والمقاييس المتبعة في هذا المجال، وباعتباره الجهة المعنية بحفظ السجلات الحكومية، واتخاذ كل ما يحافظ على أرشيفات الجهات الحكومية ووثائقها في الدولة.
ولما كان الأرشيف الوطني من أقدم المراكز الأرشيفية في منطقة الخليج العربي؛ إذ أُسِّس عام 1968 بتوجيه من القائد المؤسس المغفور له – بإذن الله - الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان، فإنه يعمل باستمرار - بدعم من القيادة الحكيمة، وبناء على توجيهات سمو الشيخ منصور بن زايد آل نهيان نائب رئيس مجلس الوزراء، وزير شؤون الرئاسة- على بناء مقتنياته من المواد الأرشيفية والوثائق التاريخية ذات العلاقة بتاريخ دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ومنطقة الخليج العربي؛ فهو يجمعها من مصادر محلية وعربية وأجنبية، لتكون منهلاً للأجيال التي تريد أن تستفيد من تجارب الماضي؛  فنشأة دولة الإمارات وازدهارها في زمن قياسي قصة آسرة ومثيرة للاهتمام، وثقها الأرشيف الوطني في أكثر من مئة وخمسين كتاباً تضم المعلومات الدقيقة والموثقة، و يتوخّى أيضاً المعايير العلمية في توثيق مقابلات التاريخ الشفهي التي يجريها مع الرواة المخضرمين من كبار السن، إضافة إلى البحوث التاريخية التي تصدر عنه.
لم يؤَسَّس الأرشيف الوطني ليكون مجرد مستودع للوثائق، ولكنه حرص على أن يكون له أيضاً دوره الوطني المؤثر في جميع شرائح المجتمع؛ فكانت لنشاطاته وفعالياته، وجهوده في التنشئة الوطنية للأجيال بالغ الأثر في تعزيز الانتماء للوطن، والولاء لقيادته الحكيمة، وترسيخ الهوية الوطنية، وغرس قيم القائد المؤسس ومآثره في نفوس الجميع.


معالي حمد بن عبد الرحمن المدفع 

رئيس مجلس إدارة الأرشيف الوطني